Quick scarf

17424816_1254004184713561_7458341743490822087_n

I’ve never been very good at keeping records of quick projects so I’m hoping that having this blog gets me into the habit.

Last weekend when chatting with some friends I offered to make one a scarf.  I asked him what his favourite colour was and so I had an actual excuse to buy new yarn on my next visit to the Wool Haven – other than “It’s so pretty/fluffy!”

He’d asked for red. I wanted a strong colour but not pillarbox so selected King Cole Super Chunky Twist in Claret Twist. The flecks of other colours gives it a bit more interest without taking away the depth of red. The yarn is 100% acrylic but incredibly soft and really easy to work with.

I used 9 mm needles and worked knit 2, purl 2 over 22 stitches.

Not quite sure exactly how long it took to finish as I worked on it on and off for an evening, I would think around 2 hours.

Using 2 balls resulted in a generous scarf measuring about 18 cm/7 inches wide and 112 cm/44 inches long.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

